The 7 Types of Love Psychology

According to psychologist robert sternberg‘s theory, there are different types of love based on three different scales: intimacy, passion, and commitment. He believes that a relationship based on a single element is less likely to survive than one based on two or more.

What are the 7 types of love?

  • Eros – Romantic, Passionate Love (Of the Body) .
  • Philia – Affectionate, Friendly Love
  • Storge – Unconditional, Familial Love
  • Agape – Selfless, Universal Love
  • Ludus – Playful, Flirtatious Love
  • Pragma – Committed, Long-Lasting Love
  • Philautia – Self Love.

What are the 7 types of love Sternberg?

  • Friendship. Components: Liking
  • Infatuation. Components: Passion
  • Empty Love. Components: Commitment
  • Romantic Love. Components: Intimacy and Passion
  • Fatuous Love. Components: Commitment and Passion
  • Consummate Love. Components: Intimacy, Passion, and Commitment.

Are there 7 or 8 types of love?

  • Eros (sexual passion)
  • Philia (deep friendship)
  • Ludus (playful love)
  • Agape (love for everyone)
  • Pragma (longstanding love)
  • Philautia (love of the self)
  • Storge (family love)
  • Mania (obsessive love)

Psychologist Robert Sternberg’s theory describes types of love based on three different scales: intimacy, passion, and commitment. It is important to recognize that a relationship based on a single element is less likely to survive than one based on two or more.

What is the most powerful form of love?

Agape love is the highest level of love that one can offer. It is given without any expectations of receiving anything in return. Offering agape love is a decision to spread love in any circumstances, including destructive situations.

Sternberg believes that there are three components of love- nonlove, liking, and infatuated love. He believes that these three components can combine in eight different ways to create different types of love. The eight types of love are nonlove, liking, infatuated love, empty love, romantic love, companionate love, fatuous love, and consummate love.

Philia is a deep friendship that develops over time. It is platonic, but nevertheless, you feel very close to those you have philia toward and can confide in them, trust them, and respect them on a very personal level.

The triangular theory of love developed by psychologist Robert Sternberg suggests that love is comprised of three components: intimacy, passion, and commitment. Intimacy encompasses feelings of attachment, closeness, and connectedness, while passion encompasses drives connected to both limerance and sexual attraction.

How many ways can love be expressed?

The four different kinds of love in the Greek language are Philia, Eros, Storge, and Agape. Each kind of love has a beautiful description, and understanding each is a sure way to help spouses improve their relationships.

I love you very much.

Is there anything greater than love? While love is an amazing thing, there are actually things that are greater than it. One example is gratitude. To have gratitude for someone means to have no judgment of them, or you. This is an incredibly powerful way to show someone that you care about them and appreciate them for who they are.

What are the 4 loves in the Bible?

  • Storge – empathy bond.
  • Philia – friend bond.
  • Eros – romantic love.
  • Agape – unconditional “God” love.

What are the five stages of love?

Even if a relationship is more modern and less defined, it will still go through the five stages of love – falling in love, becoming a couple, disillusionment, creating lasting love, and finding a calling as a couple.

What are the 5 stages of relationships?

  • The Romance Stage.
  • The Power Struggle Stage.
  • The Stability Stage.
  • The Commitment Stage.
  • The Co-Creation or Bliss Stage.

What 3 things make a relationship?

  1. Intimacy. You may think of the sexual aspect of relationship when you hear the word intimacy, but this relational building block covers so much more
  2. Commitment
  3. Communication.

Ludus people believe that love is a game to be enjoyed without any commitment or attachment. They are often flirtatious and their relationships are lighthearted.

What is the definition of consummate love?

Consummate love is the most complete form of love and is the kind of love that people strive for in an ideal relationship. Of the seven different types of love, consummate love is the one that is most often associated with the “perfect couple.”.

A relationship needs more than just commitment to last, it takes work and dedication to make it satisfying.

The three components of love are intimacy, passion, and decision/commitment. Each of these components manifests a different aspect of love.

There are many different words that can be used to describe the feeling of love. Some of these words include: deep affection, fondness, tenderness, warmth, intimacy, attachment, endearment, devotion, adoration, doting, idolization, worship, passion, ardour, desire, lust, yearning, infatuation, adulation, and besottedness.

How many times can a man fall in love?

A study has shown that a person can fall in love at least three times in their lifetime. However, each of these relationships can be different from the one before, and each one serves a different purpose.

What are the signs of true love?

  • You feel safe with them
  • They listen
  • They acknowledge your differences instead of trying to change you
  • You can communicate easily
  • They encourage you to do your own thing
  • You trust each other
  • They make an effort
  • You know you can collaborate or compromise.

There are many reasons why you might crave someone. Maybe you feel like something is lacking within you, or you’re emotionally all over the place. Maybe you’re feeding into a memory of the way a person made you feel, or a desire that you’ve been suppressing. Whatever the reason, cravings are a normal part of life.

New York couples have the longest lasting unions, with the typical marriage lasting 12.2 years. This is significantly higher than the national average of just over eight years.

You May Also Like